Alumnus of the Year

This award is given annually to an alumnus of the BYU MPA program who has demonstrated extraordinary service and leadership in the public and nonprofit sectors and in his or her community. The recipient also exhibits high standards of excellence and has gained the respect and loyalty of colleagues, peers, and family. The award is named for Norman Dale Wright, an MPA alumnus and long-time BYU professor.

2023Dale Hull
(EMPA, 2012)
Executive Director, NeuroworxText
2022Mick Berry
(MPA, 1990)
Retired County Manager, Catawba County, NCText
2021Tamara Sheffield
(EMPA, 1992)
Medical Director, Community Health and Prevention, Intermountain HealthcareText
2020Not awarded due to COVID-19
2019Doral Vance
(MPA, 1980)
Criminal Investigation Unit Manager, Utah State Tax CommissionText
2018Christopher Brady
(MPA, 1989)
City Manager, Mesa, AZText
2017Brett T. Swigert
(EMPA, 2004)
Lieutenant Colonel, United States Air ForceText
2016Steve Thacker
(MPA, 1978)
City Manager, Centerville, UtahText
2015D. Bryce Baker
(MPA, 1983)
Senior Advisor to the Deputy Associate Director for Pay and Leave, U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM)Text
2014Ruth Ann Jefferies
(MPA, 1971)
Property Tax Specialist, Utah State Tax CommissionText
2013David Oyler
(MPA, 1997)
City Manager, Spanish Fork, UtahText
2012Gwen Young Holm
(MPA, 1983)
Associate Director Mission Support, NASA Dryden Flight ResearchText
2011Francine Giani
(EMPA, 1991)
Executive Director of Commerce, State of UtahText
2006Jonathan Gardner
(MPA, 1980)
Director of Southern Arizona, VA Healthcare SystemText
2004Karen Suzuki-Okabe
(EMPA, 1989)
Director of State Division of Human Resource Management, State of UtahText
2003John C. Darrington
(MPA, 1972)
City Manager, Richland, WashingtonText
2002J. Leon Sorenson
(MA, 1967)
Director, Utah Medical Association