Organizational Leadership Professor Receives Outstanding Faculty Award

Other faculty, staff and administrators also honored

PROVO, Utah – Apr 08, 2013 – The Marriott School of Management presented Alan Wilkins, professor of organizational leadership and strategy, with the Outstanding Faculty Award at the school’s annual awards night. In addition to Wilkins, another 14 faculty, staff and administrators were recognized at the event.

“Throughout Alan’s career he has helped faculty members understand the need to strengthen students intellectually and spiritually,” says Gary Cornia, Marriott School dean. “He’s made a positive difference in the lives of MBA and undergraduate students during his time at Brigham Young University.”

Over the course of his BYU career, Wilkins has served in both teaching and administrative positions. Some of his achievements include creating the Aims of a BYU Education document, initiating a new approach to hiring faculty, establishing a faculty-development program and emphasizing undergraduate involvement in faculty research. Upon receiving the award Wilkins expressed his gratitude.

“This is a place where bright people want to come,” Wilkins said. “To be honored by you is humbling; to receive a Marriott School honor is unexpected and heartwarming.”

During the event a number of other outstanding members of the Marriott School team were also honored.

Debbie Ruse, assistant director of the MBA program, was recognized with the N. Eldon Tanner Award. First presented in 2010, this award is given to those who embody the integrity, leadership, humility and stewardship possessed by the late N. Eldon Tanner.

“Debbie is the one who has made the rest of us look good over the years,” says Craig Merrill, director of the MBA program. “She genuinely believes and lives the notion that we have a responsibility to our sacred resources here at BYU. She is careful to make sure that what we do, we do right. She’s the reason we succeed.”

The Teaching Excellence Award was given to organizational leadership and strategy professor Paul Godfrey for outstanding classroom instruction.

Tom Foster, professor of global supply chain management, and Mark Zimbleman, accounting professor, were given Scholarly Excellence Awards for their research and publication efforts.

Citizenship Awards were given to Gary Hansen, associate professor of information systems, and Larry Walters, professor of public policy and analysis, for their commitment to students, faculty and programs and furthering the school’s mission

Jeff Brown, assistant director of the Rollins Center for Entrepreneurship and Technology, and Ann Sumsion, academic advisor for the information systems department, each received an Excellence Award for superb management, professionalism, character and initiative.

The event also recognized retiring faculty and staff for their years of service. In addition to Hansen and Ruse, the list of retirees included Don Adolphson, professor of public management; Bob Crawford, associate professor of managerial economics; Michael Pinegar, professor of finance; Lee Radebaugh, professor of accountancy; Boyd Randall, professor of accountancy; and Warner Woodworth, professor of organizational leadership and strategy.

The Marriott School is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. The school has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, public management, information systems and entrepreneurship. The school’s mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,000 students are enrolled in the Marriott School’s graduate and undergraduate programs.

Alan Wilkins addresses the crowd after receiving the Outstanding Faculty Award.
Back row, from left: Tom Foster, Paul Godfrey, Larry Walters, Mark Zimbleman; Front row, from left: Michael Pinegar, Boyd Randall, Debbie Ruse, Ann Sumsion, Alan Wilkins, Warner Woodworth, Gary Hansen; Not Pictured: Jeff Brown

Media Contact: Chad Little (801) 422-1512
Writer: Meredith Francom