Marriott School Associate Dean Receives Outstanding Faculty Award

15 faculty and administrators also honored

James D. Stice, associate dean, received the 2012 Outstanding Faculty Award, the highest distinction from the Marriott School of Management at its annual awards night. Another 15 faculty, staff and administrators were also honored at the event.

"I believe every faculty member who interacts with Jim feels his humanity and concern for the Marriott School," says Gary Cornia, dean of the Marriott School. "You would be hard pressed to find a person who feels more deeply about the mission of Brigham Young University."

In accepting the award, Stice shared one of the most notable insights he has learned at BYU: the ability to see an individual's contributions requires one to actually look. In his role as associate dean, Stice looks over many facets of the Marriott School such as grade distributions, class sizes and student ratings. He feels fortunate for these assignments because they have enabled him to see the resolve of so many people.  

Back row, from left: Roger McCarty, Keith Vorkink, James Stice, John Bingham; Front row, from left: Teppo Felin, Cynthia Halliday, Patti Freeman, Michael Thompson; Not Pictured: James Arguello
Back row, from left: Roger McCarty, Keith Vorkink, James Stice, John Bingham; Front row, from left: Teppo Felin, Cynthia Halliday, Patti Freeman, Michael Thompson; Not Pictured: James Arguello
"I'm very blessed that in my position at the dean's office I've been able to get an even grander view of the Marriott School," Stice says. "It's been a wonderful opportunity to look and to see so many people who do so much with the mission of BYU. I see dedication to duty every day."

Stice began his career at BYU in 1988 as a professor in the accounting department. He has also served as assistant director and director of the MBA program. His research has been published in many of the top publications in his field. Stice has also received numerous awards during his tenure at BYU including the Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award, the highest teaching award given by the university.

Other faculty, staff and administrators were also recognized at the event for their outstanding leadership, teaching, research and citizenship.

Cynthia Halliday, managing director of the Whitmore Global Management Center and director of the Cardon International Sponsorship program, received the N. Eldon Tanner Award. The Tanner Award, first presented in 2010, is the business school's highest honor presented to a staff or administrator who embodies the integrity, leadership, humility and stewardship of the late N. Eldon Tanner.

Lee Radebaugh and Sherstin Creamer, Halliday's colleagues in the GMC, praised her for the enthusiasm and energy she brings to the office as well as her ability to handle the demands of a professional and family life.

The Teaching Excellence Awards for outstanding instruction were given to John Bingham, associate professor of organizational leadership and strategy, and Keith Vorkink, professor of finance.

Teppo Felin, associate professor of organizational leadership and strategy, received the Scholarly Excellence Award for outstanding efforts in research and publishing.

The Citizenship Awards, which recognize the commitment of faculty in giving administrative and developmental service to students, faculty and programs, were given to Michael Thompson, associate dean, and Patti Freeman, chair of the recreation management and youth leadership department.

Roger McCarty, director of experiential learning, and James Arguello, supply technician in the department of military science, each received Excellence Awards, given to staff or administrative personnel who demonstrate excellence in management, professionalism, character and initiative to improve.

For their years of service, the school also recognized retiring and departing faculty William Baker, professor of management communication; Burke Jackson, associate professor of business management; James Hansen, professor of information systems; Scott Smith, professor of marketing; Bernell Stone, professor of finance; Brent Wilson, professor of finance; and Howard Gray, professor of recreation management and youth leadership.

The Marriott School is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. The school has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, public management, information systems and entrepreneurship. The school's mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,000 students are enrolled in the Marriott School's graduate and undergraduate programs.

Media Contact: Chad Little (801) 422-1512
Writer: David Packard