Marriott School Personnel Honored

PROVO, Utah – May 05, 2016 – The Marriott School of Management honored Douglas Prawitt, Glenn Ardis Professor in the School of Accountancy, with the Outstanding Faculty Award at the school’s annual awards presentation.

“It was an honor for the Marriott School community to recognize our friend and colleague, Doug Prawitt,” says Lee Perry, Marriott School dean. “Doug is an extraordinary teacher, researcher and the consummate gentleman. The love he expresses for BYU, the Marriott School and our students inspires all of us.”

A Marriott school professor since 1993, Prawitt teaches courses in financial statement auditing, academic research and professional judgment and decision making. He currently leads the School of Accountancy’s PhD prep program, which he helped initiate in 2000. Prawitt has won multiple awards from the American Accounting Association for his contributions to accounting education in addition to several teaching awards, including the Marriott School Teaching Excellence Award.

“I’m humbled, truly, by this award and recognition,” said Prawitt in his acceptance speech. “It’s such a blessing to be at BYU and I am grateful.”

In addition to Prawitt, 13 other faculty, staff and administrators were also recognized. LuAnn Hart, secretary to the associate deans, received the N. Eldon Tanner Award. First presented in 2010, this award recognizes an administrator or staff member who demonstrates the integrity, leadership and humility of the late N. Eldon Tanner.

“We all love and appreciate the incredible LuAnn Hart,” says Michael Thompson, associate dean. “I think all of us would like to be a lot more like her; I know I would. We would never have been able to do our jobs without her extraordinary work and support.”

Greg Burton, Ford Motor Company International Professor in the School of Accountancy, and Ramon Zabriskie, professor of recreation management, were awarded Teaching Excellence Awards for outstanding efforts in the classroom.

Scholarly Excellence Awards were given to Michael Drake, assistant professor of accountancy; Shad Morris, assistant professor of organizational leadership and strategy; and Taylor Nadauld, assistant professor of finance, in recognition of their outstanding research and publications.

Brad Agle, George W. Romney Endowed Professor in the Romney Institute of Public Management; and Bruce Money, Fred Meyer Professor of marketing and global supply chain and executive director of the Global Management Center, received Citizenship Awards for their commitment to furthering the school’s mission through service.

Eric Doman, supply chain career manager, and Vicki Okerlund, Romney Institute external relations coordinator, each received a staff/administrator Excellence Award for outstanding management, professionalism, character and initiative.

The event also recognized retiring personnel for their years of service. Robert Gardner, Robert J. Smith Professor in the School of Accountancy, is retiring after serving at the university since 1978. Gardner is an accomplished educator who has served on numerous boards, including as president of the American Taxation Association. Bill Brady, accounting director in the Business Career Center, and Richard Smith, MBA director in the Business Career Center, were also honored for their contributions to the school and in helping numerous students find fulfilling careers with top companies across the country.

The Marriott School is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. The school has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, entrepreneurship, finance, information systems and public management. The school’s mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,300 students are enrolled in the Marriott School’s graduate and undergraduate programs.

Marriott School awards luncheon honorees.
Doug Prawitt receives the Outstanding Faculty Award from the Marriott School deans.
Professor Doug Prawitt speaks to luncheon attendees.

Media Contact: Chad Little (801) 422-1512
Writer: Jordan Christiansen