Skip to main content
School News

Nine BYU Marriott Undergraduates Presented with 2024 Bateman Award

The BYU Marriott School of Business recently awarded nine undergraduate students with the 2024 Bateman Award for their commitment to academic excellence and selfless service, and for demonstrating the college’s vision, mission, and values. Award recipients were presented with a certificate and a monetary prize.

Nine individual profile pictures of the Bateman Award winners.
From top left: Alex Baldwin, Mary Cluff, Baylee El-Bakri, Emily Jensen, Ammon Johnson. From bottom left: Olivia Morgan, Hayden Underwood, Kurtis Welker, Julia Woolley.

Speaking at the award ceremony, BYU Marriott dean Brigitte Madrian praised the recipients for their contribution. “We’re here to celebrate the accomplishments of the nine student recipients of the 2024 Merrill J. Bateman Awards,” she said. “These awards are given annually to one student from each of our undergraduate programs for exemplifying BYU Marriott’s vision, mission, and values and for their commitment to academic achievement.”

The 2024 Bateman Award recipients:

  • Accounting: Alex Baldwin from Kamas, Utah
  • Entrepreneurial Management: Baylee El-Bakri from Cottonwood Heights, Utah
  • Experience Design and Management: Hayden Underwood from West Jordan, Utah
  • Finance: Kurtis Welker from Silver City, New Mexico
  • Global Supply Chain Management: Emily Jensen from Lehi, Utah
  • Human Resource Management: Ammon Johnson from Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Information Systems: Olivia Morgan from St. Louis, Missouri
  • Marketing: Mary Cluff from Warrenton, Virgina
  • Strategy: Julia Woolley from Denver, Colorado

Continuing her remarks to the award recipients, Madrian said, “Receiving the Bateman award is a distinct honor, and we congratulate each one of you on this tremendous accomplishment.”

The award is named after Merrill J. Bateman, former dean of BYU Marriott from 1975 to 1979, who later served as president of Brigham Young University from 1996 to 2003. He also holds the title of emeritus general authority seventy within The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The BYU Marriott School of Business aspires to transform the world through Christlike leadership by developing leaders of faith, intellect, and character. Named for benefactors J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott, the school is located at Brigham Young University. BYU Marriott has four graduate and nine undergraduate programs with an enrollment of approximately 3,800 students.


Written by Jake Holt