Skip to main content
School News

2023 Bateman Award Winners Recognized

Nine undergraduate students at the BYU Marriott School of Business were recently honored as 2023 Bateman Award recipients for their commitment to academics and service and for demonstrating the college’s vision, mission, and values. Award recipients were presented with a certificate and a monetary prize.

Merrill J. Bateman and Dean Brigitte Madrian pose with the 2023 Bateman Award winners.
From left: Aubrey Allen, Mikayla Cluxton, Dean Brigitte Madrian, Jacob Dyas, Merrill J. Bateman, Owen Laurie, Lakely Shupe, Peter Giles, Elise Sutherland. Not pictured: Jenna Habel and Camryn Tippetts.
Photo courtesy of BYU Photo.

The award is named after Merrill J. Bateman, who held the position of dean at BYU Marriott from 1975 to 1979 and later served as president of Brigham Young University from 1996 to 2003. He also holds the title of emeritus general authority seventy within The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The 2023 Bateman Award recipients:

  • Accounting: Elise Sutherland from Liberty Lake, Washington 
  • Entrepreneurial management: Mikayla Cluxton from Powdersville, South Carolina 
  • Experience design and management: Camryn Tippetts from Houston, Texas 
  • Finance: Owen Laurie from Nanaimo, British Columbia (Canada) 
  • Global supply chain management: Jacob Dyas from Merced, California  
  • Human resource management: Aubrey Allen from Saratoga Springs, Utah 
  • Information systems: Jenna Habel from Kaysville, Utah 
  • Marketing: Lakely Shupe from North Salt Lake, Utah 
  • Strategy: Peter Giles from Beaverton, Oregon 

During the award ceremony, Brigitte Madrian, BYU Marriott dean, spoke about the attributes of the nine recipients and the honor of being granted a Bateman Award. “I think I speak for everyone here in saying that we are proud of what you have accomplished during your time here at BYU Marriott,” she said.

“You truly exemplify our BYU Marriott vision, mission, and values, and I have every confidence that you will go out and transform the world through your Christlike leadership,” Madrian added.

The BYU Marriott School of Business prepares men and women of faith, character, and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Named for benefactors J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott, the school is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. BYU Marriott has four graduate and nine undergraduate degrees with an enrollment of approximately 3,300 students.


Written by Maggie Olsen