School of Accountancy Director Named 2009 Outstanding Faculty

15 Others Recognized for Service to the School

The Marriott School of Management honored Kevin D. Stocks with its highest faculty distinction, the Outstanding Faculty Award, at the annual Marriott School Awards Night on April 3. Along with Stocks, 15 other individuals were recognized at the banquet for their contributions to the school.

"I want to express appreciation for this recognition and acknowledge that it has to do with working with really good people," Stocks said at the banquet. "That's what it's all about. Synergy tops individualism every time. That synergy does not only apply to the accounting program, but to the Marriott School, and on and on."

Holder of the KPMG professorship, Stocks joined the faculty at BYU in 1983. Since that time, he has taught courses at all levels in the accounting and MBA programs, authored two books and published articles in several scholarly journals. For the past six years, Stocks has served as the director of the BYU School of Accountancy. Currently, he is the president of the Accounting Programs Leadership Group of the American Accounting Association.

"Kevin's administrative leadership is successful because he is first and foremost a people person," says Gary C. Cornia, Marriott School dean. "His concern for others is so obvious and so genuine that Kevin receives the support of his peers without ever needing to ask for it."

Other faculty, staff and administrators were also recognized during the banquet for their outstanding teaching, researching and citizenship.

The Marriott School Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Steven M. Glover, professor of accounting.

Marriott School Citizenship Awards were presented to Lynn J. McKell, professor of information systems; Rayman D. Meservy, associate professor of information systems; and Gary K. Rhoads, professor of business management.

Marriott School Scholarly Excellence Awards were presented to Barrett A. Slade, associate professor of finance; and David Whetten, professor of organizational leadership and strategy.

The Marriott School Administrative Excellence Award was presented to Emily Smurthwaite, publications editor for the office of External Relations and Technology.

Marriott School Staff Excellence Awards were presented to Debbie Auxier, secretary for the EMBA program; LuAnn Hart, secretary for the dean's office; and Laura Leseberg, assistant military personnel technician for the department of military science.

Retiring faculty and staff members were also honored at the banquet for their service. The seven 2009 Marriott School retirees are: Richard S. Dalebout, associate professor of business law; Gordon J. Jacobs, professor of aerospace studies; Lynn J. McKell, professor of information systems; Linda Ottley Rich, program director at the BYU Center for Entrepreneurship; K. Fred Skousen, BYU advancement vice president; Paul R. Timm, professor of organizational leadership and strategy; and Joan W. Young, director of undergraduate management.

The Marriott School is located at Brigham Young University, the largest privately owned, church-sponsored university in the United States. The school has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, public management, information systems and entrepreneurship. The school's mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,000 students are enrolled in the Marriott School's graduate and undergraduate programs.  

Media Contact: Joseph Ogden (801) 422-8938
Writer: Megan Bingham